Kia ora.


About us

Network for Learning (N4L) is a Crown company that provides safe and secure internet to all New Zealand schools and kura. But we’re so much more than that. We’re committed to helping all ākonga thrive in a digital world, and are driven by coming up with smart ideas that are simply delivered – so that kaiako can focus on teaching, and ākonga can focus on learning.

Our purpose

We’re here to help bridge the digital divide so that all ākonga in Aotearoa have equal access to a safe digital environment for learning.


We make it possible for 850,000+ ākonga and kaiako to have access to safe and reliable internet while at school.


We’re all about empowering our ākonga to learn safely online – increasing educational success and contributing to the wellbeing of Aotearoa.


Join our passionate N4L whanau here.

Latest News & Blog

Click here to read or subscribe to our blog or newsletter.

Policies and Legal T&Cs

All our policies and legal T&Cs can be found here.

Our Management team

Larrie Moore

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Alexander (Sandy) Brown

Chief Government Affairs Officer

Gavin Costello

Chief Information and Security Officer

Kim Hegarty

Chief People Officer

Michelle Leadsom

Chief Customer and Brand Officer

Gill Mahony

Chief Financial Officer

Our Board of Directors

Colin MacDonald, Chair

Prior to joining the N4L board, Colin MacDonald was Chief Executive at the Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) and Government Chief Digital Officer (GCDO). During his tenure he secured efficiencies across departments’ IT budgets, and led a transformation of the way digital public services are delivered. In 2019, Colin was appointed a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order for services to the state.

Dame Karen Poutasi, Deputy Chair

Dame Karen Poutasi is the Commissioner of the Waikato District Health Board. Previously, she was the Chief Executive of the New Zealand Qualifications authority from 2006 to 2020, and had also previously served as the Director General of Health. Karen is a medical graduate and her area of specialisation is public health. She holds both Otago and Harvard University management qualifications.

Karen is the Chair of the New Zealand Committee for Harkness Fellowships. She was appointed a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services in health in 2006 and in 2020 was promoted to Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for services to education and the state.

Jeremy Banks, Director (Chair of the HR & Remuneration Committee)

Jeremy Banks is a software development specialist with experience growing software startups. With a variety of current
governance roles, Jeremy has whakapapa links to the top of the South Island through Ngāti Rārua, Rangitāne ki Wairau and Ngāti Kuia.

Sharon Cresswell, Director (Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee)

Sharon Cresswell joined the N4L board in August 2019. Up until June 2019, Sharon had spent 23 years with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) in both the UK and New Zealand, the last 16 years as a PwC partner. Sharon’s experience is predominantly in assurance and risk
management. She has also assisted clients in strategy development and implementation. Sharon has spent two
periods of time with the Crown Research Institute, AgResearch as the Finance and Business Performance Director and most
recently to enable cover for the Acting CE.

Anthony Briscoe, Director

Anthony Briscoe was until recently President and CEO of Southern Cross Cable Network, prior to this he was Head of International for Telecom NZ and latterly Spark. He has served on numerous boards including Chair of HortResearch, Airways, Kordia and Wellington Cable Car.

Clare Curran, Director

Hon Clare Curran joined N4L in November 2021. Clare runs her own consultancy and sits on several boards focussed on addressing homelessness, poverty and lowering the rates of suicide. Prior to that she was the member of parliament for Dunedin South for 12 years and Minister of Digital Services across Government, Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media from 2017-2018. Prior to being an MP, she was a small business owner, consultant and media specialist and has extensive experience in the field of communications and a deep understanding of its criticality to effective policy work, campaigns, marketing and change management.

Leadership Advisory Group

N4L receives support from its Leadership Advisory Group, which is made up of senior leaders from the education sector. The Leadership Advisory Group meets at least four times a year and lends their expertise to help N4L engage with the big questions in education and technology.

From left: Sarah Martin, Sose Annandale, Claire Amos, Charles Newton, Dorothy Burt
(Absent: Bruce Jepsen, Nicola Ngarewa, Mike Williams, Jen Rodgers)

Nicola Ngarewa
Spotswood College

Claire Amos
Albany Senior High School

Dorothy Burt
Manaiakalani Education Programme

Sarah Martin
Stonefields School

Bruce Jepsen
Te Akau ki Papamoa Primary School

Charles Newton
Education Consultant

Jen Rodgers
St Clair School, Dunedin

Mike Williams
Pakuranga College

Sose Annandale
Russell School

Proud award winners across a number of industry categories


CIO50 Awards – #12


Spirit of Service Awards – Better Outcomes


NZ Broadband Awards – Best Innovation in Education & Training


Reseller News Innovation Awards – Partner (Collaboration)


Reseller News Innovation Awards – Partner (Corporate Citizen)


Reseller News Innovation Awards – Entrepreneurship (Technical Excellence)


NZ Reseller Awards


NZ Broadband Awards – Best Specialist Provider


NZ Broadband Awards – Best Specialist Provider & NZ Broadband Provider of the year


ICT-enabled Community Iinitiative at CIO-100 Awards


Learning and Science at World Summit Awards


Innovation in Marketing and Communications at NZ Innovator Awards


Access & Digital Skills at the Australia & New Zealand Internet Awards


Most Innovative Solution at NZ HiTech Awards


AUT Excellence in Business Support Awards